BVRio on the search for the 2024 Earthshot Prize winners as Official Nominator

Between today (19 Sep) and 15 December 2023 BVRio is in the privileged position to be able to submit nominations for The Earthshot Prize 2024. Along with the other Official Nominators, we are looking for exceptional initiatives which aim to address one of five critical issues facing the planet, one of which is ‘build a waste free world’.

We will be nominating individuals, communities, businesses and organisations whose solutions make the most progress towards achieving the five Earthshots – simple but ambitious goals which if achieved by 2030 will improve life for us all, for generations to come. 

The Earthshots are: 

  1. Protect and Restore Nature 
  2. Clean our Air 
  3. Revive our Oceans 
  4. Build a Waste-Free World 
  5. Fix our Climate 

The Earthshot Prize will consider solutions which make tangible progress towards one of the five Earthshots. They should be beyond idea stage, have tested their solution in-field or with target audiences, and are at a ‘tipping point’ for scaling their impact within the next five years. For more information about what The Earthshot Prize looks for in their nominees, please read the new 2023 Roadmap.

You can get involved by bringing to our attention any initiatives which you feel we should consider by emailing details to info@bvrio.org. Five, one million-pound prizes will be awarded each year for the next ten years, providing at least 50 solutions to the world’s greatest environmental problems by 2030.

“The Earth is at a tipping point and we face a stark choice: either we continue as we are and irreparably damage our planet, or we remember our unique power as human beings and our continual ability to lead, innovate and problem-solve. People can achieve great things. The next ten years present us with one of our greatest tests – a decade of action to repair the Earth.” Prince William

BVRio Director, Pedro Moura Costa, commented, “We are honoured to continue to work with the Earthshot Prize to help identify the most impactful solutions individuals, communities, businesses and organisations are making towards achieving the five Earthshots.”

After nominations are submitted, they are screened as part of a rigorous assessment process culminating in the selection of five winners by Prince William and the Earthshot Prize Council. 

The Earthshot Prize awards one million pounds each to the 5 winners, and all 15 will enter The Earthshot Fellowship Programme for a year of dedicated support. Finalists and Winners are given an incredible platform to amplify their work, as well as tailored support from The Earthshot Prize and our network of NGOs, businesses, governments, funders and expert mentors.

The nomination period runs 19 September to 15 December 2023.